Original: Spanish

RESOLUTION No. 460

2008-2009 INTER-AMERICAN AWARDS IN THE RURAL SECTOR

The INTER-AMERICAN BOARD OF AGRICULTURE (IABA), as its Fifteenth Regular Meeting,

HAVING SEEN:

The report presented by the Selection Committee for the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector (Selection Committee), comprised of representatives of Chile, El Salvador, Peru, the United States of America and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and its recommendations to the IABA for granting the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector for 2008-2009,

CONSIDERING:

That, as can be seen from the Selection Committee's report, said Committee, based on the Regulations for Conferring the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector, has conducted a thorough review of the nominations received and has recommended granting the Inter-American awards in the various categories;

That the individuals and institutions recommended by the Selection Committee meet the requirements and have the distinction that warrant the granting of the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector as international public recognition of their worthy contribution to the development of agriculture and the improvement of rural life in the Americas;

That the IABA, as IICA's highest governing body, has the power to establish and grant additional awards that are not established in the Regulations, if the circumstances so warrant; and,

That the Selection Committee has recommended that the IABA establish a special, posthumous award and grant it to Dr. Assefaw Tewolde, of Mexico, and Dr.

Roberto Villeda Toledo, of Honduras, in recognition of their outstanding contributions to agriculture in the Americas,

RESOLVES:

1. To grant the:

- a. Inter-American Agricultural Medal for 2008-2009, to be shared by Mr. Roberto Rodrigues, of Brazil, and Mr. Alejandro Bonifacio, of Bolivia;
- b. Inter-American Award for the Contribution of Women to Rural Development for 2008-2009 to Ms. Susana Mejillones, of Bolivia;
- c. Inter-American Award for Institutional Contributions to Agricultural and Rural Development for 2008-2009 to the Fundacion de Comunicaciones, Capacitacion y Cultura del Agro (FUCOA) of Chile;
- d. Inter-American Award for Young Professionals for 2008-2009 to Rodolfo Bezerra de Menezes Lobato da Costa, of Brazil;
- e. Inter-American Award for Innovative Rural Producers for 2008-2009 to the Federacion de Cooperativas NGEN, of Chile; and,
- f. Special, posthumous award to Dr. Assefaw Tewolde, of Mexico, and Dr. Roberto Villeda Toledo, of Honduras, for their achievements and contributions to the development of agriculture in the Americas.

2. To grant the following honorable mentions:

- a. In the category of the Inter-American Agricultural Award for Young Professionals for 2008-2009, to Karen Latoya Tamasa, of Jamaica, and Carol Thompson, of Barbados.
- 3. To thank the Member States that took part in the process of identifying and nominating an outstanding group of candidates to receive the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector for 2008-2009.
- 4. To instruct the Director General to organize the awards ceremony within the framework of the Fifteenth Regular Meeting of the Inter-American Board of Agriculture and to present the respective awards to the Representatives of the Member States of which the winners are citizens.

- 5. To task the Director General with presenting a special, posthumous award to the relatives of Dr. Assefaw Tewolde, of Mexico, and Dr. Roberto Villeda Toledo, of Honduras.
- 6. To recommend to the Director General that, with the support of the members of the Selection Committee, every effort be made to ensure that as many candidates as possible are nominated for the next round of Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector.
- To thank the members of the Selection Committee for the work carried out and for their well-founded recommendations to the IABA concerning the decisions taken with regard to the granting of the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector for 2008-2009.

MINUTES

MEETING OF THE SELECTION COMMITTEE FOR THE INTER-AMERICAN AWARDS IN THE RURAL SECTOR

The Selection Committee for the Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector met on October 28, 2009, in the city of Montego Bay, Jamaica, in the St. Andrew's Salon of the Ritz Carlton Hotel. The Committee was comprised of representatives of Chile, El Salvador, Peru, the United States of America and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and elected the representative of Peru to serve as Chairperson. During the meeting, the Committee studied 12 nominations from different countries that had proposed candidates for the five inter-American awards.

After examining and discussing the respective documentation, the Committee decided to recommend that the Inter-American Board of Agriculture (IABA):

1) Grant the following awards:

- The Inter-American Agricultural Medal to be shared by Dr. Roberto Rodrigues, of Brazil, and Dr. Alejandro Bonifacio, of Bolivia;
- The Inter-American Award for the Contribution of Women to Rural Development for 2008-2009 to Ms. Susana Mejillones, of Bolivia;
- The Inter-American Award for Institutional Contributions to Agricultural and Rural Development for 2008-2009 to the Fundacion de Comunicaciones, Capacitacion y Cultura del Agro (FUCOA), of Chile;
- The Inter-American Award for Young Professionals for 2008-2009 to Rodolfo Bezerra de Menezes Lobato da Costa, of Brazil;
- The Inter-American Award for Innovative Rural Producers for 2008-2009 to the Federacion de Cooperativas NGEN, of Chile; and,
- Honorary mentions in the category of the Inter-American Agricultural Award for Professional Young People 2008-2009 to Karen Latoya Tamasa, of Jamaica, and Carol Thompson, of Barbados.
- 2) Grant a posthumous, special award, for their outstanding achievements and contributions to agriculture in the Americas, to two IICA officials who recently passed away, Dr. Assefaw Tewolde, of Mexico, and Dr. Roberto Villeda Toledo, of Honduras; and to request that the IABA instruct the Director General to present the awards to the relatives of both gentlemen.
- 3) Instruct the Director General, with the support of the members of the Selection Committee, to make every effort to ensure that as many candidates as possible are nominated for the next round of Inter-American Awards in the Rural Sector.

- Propose that the IABA create the Award for Young Entrepreneurs of the Agricultural Sector.
- 5) Place on record that the Representative of Chile refrained from participating in the discussions and voting in those cases in which Chilean individuals or institutions were nominated for the inter-American awards; and,
- 6) Thank IICA officials Fernando del Risco and Guillermo Toro, and the Legal Adviser, Dr. William Berenson, for the assistance they provided to the Committee.